Better Breadcrumbs Section

Available on my Gumroad store

Hey everyone,

I’ve had a few requests to make a video or solution for Breadcrumbs, particularly on Dawn theme. So I built a Breadcrumbs section that you can add to any theme. It’s available now on my store:

The background of the issue is that Shopify’s breadcrumb setup simply isn’t good. Often they only have one level, like:

Home > Product

This isn’t useful for customers and has no SEO benefit.

If your theme uses collection-aware URLs, then your breadcrumbs might have two levels with a collection:

Home > Collection > Product

But if your theme works that way you have another SEO problem. There will be many duplicate versions of the same product page, depending on which collection you went through to get to the product.

This isn’t just my opinion. These issues are covered in this article by Logeix - a top Shopify SEO agency. They have also been acknowledged by the Dawn development team, which is why breadcrumbs have been removed from Shopify’s free themes.

So perhaps your theme doesn’t have breadcrumbs at all, but you know they would help make your site easier to navigate, and you’ve heard they help a lot with SEO.

Well, I think I have a good solution for you. I’ve built a section that gives you complete manual control over the breadcrumbs on each product. And it allows for multiple layers of breadcrumbs like this:

Home > Collection > Sub-collection > Product

It is built to be SEO-friendly - it contains Breadcrumb structured data for Google, and it avoids the duplicate page issues of the default Shopify breadcrumbs.

Check it out here: Better Breadcrumbs for Shopify

I have also explained the entire topic and demoed the section in my latest video:

If you have any questions or feedback to make this more useful for you, please let me know!

Ed